

Ford Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee

Sep 13, 2022

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the appointment of Yolanda Ford to the FFIEC's State Liaison Committee (SLC). Ford was designated by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) to complete the remainder of the two-year term left vacant by the early departure of Senior Deputy Commissioner Stephen Pleger. Ford's partial term on the SLC will expire on March 31, 2023.

Ford is the Deputy Superintendent of the Community and Regional Banks Unit within the New York State Department of Financial Services, responsible for the regulatory supervision of community and regional banks and credit unions; she has served in this role since 2016. Prior to that, she was appointed Assistant Deputy Superintendent in the Community and Regional Banks Unit in 2008 and spent twenty-three years in field examination and supervision roles in various sectors of the New York State Department of Financial Services.

Ford currently serves as a member of the NASCUS Regulator Board for the 2021–2024 term. Prior to that she served a one-year term on the NASCUS Regulator Board from 2020–2021.

The five-member SLC also includes:

- SLC Chairman Tom Fite, Director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, selected by the Council;
- Kevin Allard, Superintendent, Ohio Division of Financial Institutions, designated by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS);
- Melanie Hall, Commissioner, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, selected by the Council; and
- Susannah Marshall, Commissioner, Arkansas Bank Department, designated by the CSBS.

The FFIEC was created by the Federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions, and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC currently consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions. The Council consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee.

Media Contacts:

NCUA Joseph Adamoli (703) 518-6330 SLC Laura Fisher (202) 360-4918

###

202.296.2840 newsroom@csbs.org 1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036