Skip Navigation Links
2016 Press Releases
Idaho Department of Finance Earns Banking Supervision Re-accreditation
California and Missouri Begin Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 50 State Agencies Now Using the Test
North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions Receives Certificate of Mortgage Accreditation
CSBS Names Jim Kurtzke Vice President of Communications
CSBS Announces 2016 Community Bank Case Study Competition Participants
SRR Releases 2015 Annual Report
Colorado Begins Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 51 State Agencies Now Using the Test
Gonzales Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
Scott Corscadden Named New NMLS Ombudsman
FFIEC Seeks Comments on Proposed Revisions
Financial Regulators Release New Appendix for Retail Payment Systems Booklet
Face Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
Lawson Elected as State Liaison Committee Chairman
Multi-State Non-Bank Supervision Groups Release Annual Reports
CSBS Releases 2015 Annual Report
12 Student Teams Named Finalists in 2016 Community Bank Case Study Competition
CSBS and MTRA Issue White Paper on State Supervision of MSBs
CSBS Announces New Leadership
Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending Receives Mortgage Reaccreditation
CSBS Announces Winners of the 2016 Community Bank Case Study Competition
CSBS Chairman Challenges State and Federal Regulators to Work Together
Illinois Begins Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 52 State Agencies Now Using the Test
West Virginia Department of Financial Institutions Receives Banking Reaccreditation
FFIEC Issues Statement on Safeguarding the Cybersecurity of Interbank Messaging and Payment Networks
Statement on the Financial CHOICE Act
Statement on Introduction of the Bank Service Company Examination Coordination Act
New Call Report to Streamline Supervision of Money Services Businesses
Fed/CSBS 2016 Community Banking Research Conference to Be Held Sept. 28-29
FFIEC Invites Public Comment on Streamlined "Call Report" for Smaller Institutions
Fed/CSBS Announce Papers Selected for the 2016 Community Banking Research Conference
Financial Regulators Release Revised Information Security Booklet
White Paper Discusses Opportunities for Community Banks to Collaborate
NMLS Launches New Capabilities to Streamline State Licensing Processes
North Carolina Commissioner Ray Grace Appointed
CSBS Releases Second Quarter NMLS
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council Announces Availability of 2015 Data on Mortgage Lending
Federal Reserve and CSBS Release Findings from 2016 National Survey of Community Banks
Washington Department of Financial Institutions Earns Bank, Mortgage Accreditation
CSBS-Federal Reserve Research Conference Describes the Value and Business Prospects of Community Banks
FFIEC Announces Webinars in Observance of Cybersecurity Awareness Month
Maryland Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation Receives Accreditation of Mortgage Supervision Program
CSBS Names Tom Bayer Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer
FFIEC Issues Frequently Asked Questions Guide on the Cybersecurity Assessment Tool
Third Annual “Your License is Your Business Campaign” Launches Today
CSBS Releases Map of State Requirements for Opening Bank Accounts for Minors
FFIEC Issues Uniform Interagency Consumer Compliance Rating System
State Regulators Oppose OCC Fintech Charter
State Regulatory Group Announces New Cyber Certification Program for Bank Examiners
Statement by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors on Comptroller’s Announcement of New Federal Charters
2017 NMLS Renewal Campaign “Your License is Your Business” Off to Strong Start
FFIEC Streamlines “Call Report” for Small Institutions
Print-Friendly   |   Email-A-Friend 


Media Release

Conference of State Bank Supervisors
        1129 20th Street, NW, 9th Floor, Washington, DC, 20036

 CSBS Announces New Leadership  

Texas Commissioner Charles G. Cooper Named Chairman

Denver – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) today announced the election of Charles G. Cooper, Commissioner of the Texas Department of Banking, as the new chairman of the CSBS Board of Directors. The election took place during the organization’s annual membership meeting in Denver where new officers were also elected for 2016-2017. CSBS has also announced new committee chair appointments.    

Newly installed officers, who comprise the CSBS Executive Committee, include:

  • Chairman:  Charles G. Cooper, Commissioner, Texas Department of Banking;
  • Chairman-Elect:  Charles J. Dolezal, Superintendent, Ohio Division of Financial Institutions;
  • Vice Chairman:  Albert L. Forkner, State Banking Commissioner, Wyoming Division of Banking;
  • Treasurer:  Charlotte Corley, Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance;
  • Secretary:  Bret Afdahl, Director, South Dakota Division of Banking; and
  • Immediate Past Chairman:  David J. Cotney, Commissioner, Massachusetts Division of Banks.

At-Large Board Members are:

  •  Gavin Gee, Director, Idaho Department of Finance; and
  • Chris Myklebust, State Bank Commissioner, Colorado Division of Banking

Committee and Board Chairs of the CSBS Board of Directors include:

  • Foreign Bank Regulatory Committee Chairman:  N. Michael Casparian, Assistant Deputy Superintendent of Banks, New York State Department of Financial Services;
  •  Legislative Committee Chairman:  Trabo Reed, Deputy Superintendent of Banks, Alabama State Banking Department;
  •  Non-Depository Supervisory Committee: Jan Lynn Owen, California Department of Business Oversight; and
  • Regulatory Committee Chairman:  Kevin Hagler, Commissioner, Georgia Department of Banking & Finance.
  • State Supervisory Processes Committee Chairman:  Judi M. Stork, Deputy Bank Commissioner, Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner
  •  CSBS Education Foundation Board of Trustees Chairman:  Melanie G. Hall, Commissioner, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions
  •  State Regulatory Registry Board of Managers Chairman:  Robert J. Entringer, Commissioner, North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions
  • Bankers Advisory Board Industry Co-Chairman:  K. Brent Vidrine, President and CEO, Bank of Sunset Bank and Trust Co., Sunset, Louisiana *
  • Bankers Advisory Board Regulator Co-Chairman:  M. Shane Deal, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Commerce

Commissioners representing the CSBS Districts are:

  • District I:  Gordon Cooley, Commissioner, Maryland Office of Financial Regulation
  • District II:  Karen Lawson, Director, Office of Banking, Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
  • District III:  Ray Grace, Commissioner, North Carolina Office of the Commissioner of Banks
  • District IV:  Deryl K. Schuster, Commissioner, Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner
  • District V:  Iris Ikeda, Commissioner, Hawaii Division of Financial Institutions

Chairmen Emeritus, who serve as ex-officio members of the CSBS Board, include:

  • Candace A. Franks, Commissioner, Arkansas State Bank Department *
  • Charles A. Vice, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions *
  • Greg Gonzales, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions *
  • John P. Ducrest, Commissioner, Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions *
  • Jeffrey C. Vogel, Director, Wyoming Department of Audit *
  •  E. Joseph Face, Jr., Commissioner, Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions *
  •  Mick Thompson, Commissioner, Oklahoma State Banking Department *
  •  Gavin M. Gee, Director, Idaho Department of Finance *
  • G. Edward Leary, Commissioner, Utah Department of Financial Institutions *

* denotes non-voting position

#  #  #
©2017 CSBS   Terms of Use \ Privacy Policy \ Site Map
1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor  \  Washington, DC  \  20036  \  Tel. 202.296.2840  \  Fax. 202.296.1928