Skip to main content

Minnesota Begins Using the Uniform Mortgage Test

Washington, D.C. – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) announced that the Minnesota Department of Commerce began using the National SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) Test with Uniform State Content starting today, bringing the total number of state agencies that use the test to 59.

The test combines both the national and state testing requirements of the SAFE Act. Previously, Minnesota licensees had to take two tests: one national and one state. The new test replaces the separate, state-specific tests. A license applicant who passes the National SAFE MLO Test with Uniform State Content will not need to take any additional state-specific tests to hold a license within participating states.

Minnesota Commerce Commissioner Jessica Looman said, “The Minnesota Department of Commerce is committed to ensuring a strong, competitive and fair licensing program for the financial services industry. Under the uniform test, Minnesota professionals can become licensed as loan originators efficiently and affordably, obtaining licenses nationwide by taking a single exam.”

The SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 requires all MLOs to be registered or state-licensed through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry (NMLS).

More information on the National SAFE MLO test with Uniform State Content is available here.

Recent Press Releases Posts

Press Releases
Jim Payne, director of examinations and assistant deputy commissioner for the Consumer and Mortgage…
Jul 1, 2020
Press Releases
New HMDA data now available.
Jun 24, 2020
Press Releases
Federal and State Regulatory Agencies Issue  Examiner Guidance for Assessing Safety and Soundness…
Jun 23, 2020
Press Releases
CSBS President and CEO John W. Ryan statement on the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency’s (…
Jun 23, 2020