Skip Navigation Links
2017 Press Releases
Florida and Arkansas Begin Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 54 State Agencies Now Using the Test
State Regulators Oppose OCC Special Charter For Non-Banks
State Financial Regulators Release BSA/AML Compliance Tool for Industry
CSBS Board Appoints Wyoming’s Albert Forkner as Chairman-Elect
State Regulators Promote “Fintech Friendly” Features of National Registry
College Students Participate in Nationwide Community Bank Competition
Statement on the Illinois Fintech Regulatory Roundtables
CSBS Urges Congress to Weigh in Against OCC Non-Bank Charter
State Regulators Highlight EGRPRA Priorities for Financial Regulatory Relief
Gonzales, Hughes and Jones Re-Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
State Regulators Announce Changes to Money Services Businesses Reporting
State Regulators Issue Cease-and-Desist Orders to Subsidiaries of Ocwen Financial Corp.
CSBS Files Complaint Against Comptroller of the Currency
Gonzales Elected as State Liaison Committee Chairman
Stork Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
CSBS Announces Vision 2020 for Fintech and Non-Bank Regulation
CSBS Statement on New York Department of Financial Services Lawsuit Against OCC
CSBS Announces Five Finalist Teams in the 2017 Bank Case Study Competition
CSBS Announces New Leadership
The University of Akron Wins First Place in CSBS Community Bank Competition
Fed Chair Yellen Will Open 2017 Fed/CSBS Community Banking Research Conference;
FFIEC Proposes Additional Revisions to Streamline “Call Report” for Small Institutions
State Regulators Call for an End to One-Size-Fits-All Bank Regulation
State Regulators and U.S. Secret Service Issue Industry Best Practices for Combating Cyber Crime
Louisiana Regulator to Guide Nationwide Licensing and Supervision System for Fintechs and Other Non-Banks
State Regulators Issue Annual Reports on Non-Bank Supervision
CSBS Launches Fintech Advisory Panel to Help Modernize State Regulation
CSBS to OCC: Fintech Charter Lacks Legal Authority
CSBS Names Kyle Thomas Vice President, Accreditation and Supervisory Processes
State Regulators File Suit Over Unauthorized Use of Licensing Test Information
Statement on Financial Innovation Symposium hosted by Western States Financial Regulators
2018 CSBS Case Study Competition to Focus on Financial Innovation
Federal and State Banking Agencies Issue Statement on Supervisory Practices Regarding Financial Institutions and Borrowers Affected by Hurricane Irma
State Regulators Launch Redesign for Next Generation Technology Platform; Core Component of CSBS Vision 2020
South Carolina Begins Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 57 State Agencies Now Using the Test
Print-Friendly   |   Email-A-Friend 


Media Release

Conference of State Bank Supervisors
        1129 20th Street, NW, 9th Floor, Washington, DC, 20036

 College Students Participate in Nationwide Community Bank Competition  


Teams to Evaluate, Recommend Innovative Succession Plans


Washington, D.C. – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) has announced 44 student teams from colleges and universities around the U.S. will participate in its 2017 Community Bank Case Study Competition. The competition, which is open to undergraduate students in all fields of study, is an opportunity for students to gain valuable first-hand knowledge of the banking industry, and the opportunities and challenges facing today’s 21st century community banks. Each student team must develop an original case study that evaluates bank leadership succession planning and provides succession planning recommendations based on research.  

 “More and more, succession planning has become a recurring topic at the CSBS-Federal Reserve Community Banking Research Conference,” said CSBS President and CEO John W. Ryan. “This is partly because it is an essential part of doing business, but also because a large number of bank senior executives are set to retire in the next few years. This backdrop also makes this year’s community bank case study competition that much more exciting and interesting as students partner with senior bank executives to evaluate and recommend innovative succession plan practices.”

The student teams are competing for a chance to get their work published in an academic journal, an opportunity to attend the fifth annual CSBS-Federal Reserve Community Banking Research Conference, and an academic scholarship. Competition finalists will be announced in early May. The top three scoring teams will be announced May 25, 2017 from the State-Federal Supervisors Symposium in New Orleans, La. The announcement will be streamed live on the competition website at

Student teams participating in the 2017 Community Bank Case Study Competition include:

Arkansas State University (Arkansas)

Fairfield University (Connecticut)

Albany State University (Georgia)

Ball State University (Indiana)

Trine University (Indiana)

University of Southern Indiana (Indiana)

Drake University (Iowa)

Iowa State University (Iowa)

Murray State University (Kentucky)

Louisiana State University (Louisiana)

Southeastern Louisiana University (Louisiana)

Southern University and A&M College (Louisiana)

Oakland University (Michigan)

Hamline University (Minnesota)

Mississippi State University (Mississippi)

University of Mississippi (Mississippi)

University of Missouri - Kansas City (Missouri)

University of Montana (Montana)

Western Carolina University (North Carolina)

Ohio State University (Ohio)

Ohio University (Ohio)

The University of Akron (Ohio)

Youngstown State University (Ohio)

Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania (PA)

Gannon University (Pennsylvania)

Kutztown University (Pennsylvania)

York College of Pennsylvania (Pennsylvania)

Northern State University (South Dakota)

Texas A&M University (Texas)

Texas Tech University (Texas)

James Madison University (Virginia)

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (Wisconsin)


For more information on the 2016 Community Bank Case Study Competition, visit


#  #  #
©2017 CSBS   Terms of Use \ Privacy Policy \ Site Map
1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor  \  Washington, DC  \  20036  \  Tel. 202.296.2840  \  Fax. 202.296.1928