Skip Navigation Links
2017 Press Releases
Florida and Arkansas Begin Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 54 State Agencies Now Using the Test
State Regulators Oppose OCC Special Charter For Non-Banks
State Financial Regulators Release BSA/AML Compliance Tool for Industry
CSBS Board Appoints Wyoming’s Albert Forkner as Chairman-Elect
State Regulators Promote “Fintech Friendly” Features of National Registry
College Students Participate in Nationwide Community Bank Competition
Statement on the Illinois Fintech Regulatory Roundtables
CSBS Urges Congress to Weigh in Against OCC Non-Bank Charter
State Regulators Highlight EGRPRA Priorities for Financial Regulatory Relief
Gonzales, Hughes and Jones Re-Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
State Regulators Announce Changes to Money Services Businesses Reporting
State Regulators Issue Cease-and-Desist Orders to Subsidiaries of Ocwen Financial Corp.
CSBS Files Complaint Against Comptroller of the Currency
Gonzales Elected as State Liaison Committee Chairman
Stork Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee
CSBS Announces Vision 2020 for Fintech and Non-Bank Regulation
CSBS Statement on New York Department of Financial Services Lawsuit Against OCC
CSBS Announces Five Finalist Teams in the 2017 Bank Case Study Competition
CSBS Announces New Leadership
The University of Akron Wins First Place in CSBS Community Bank Competition
Fed Chair Yellen Will Open 2017 Fed/CSBS Community Banking Research Conference;
FFIEC Proposes Additional Revisions to Streamline “Call Report” for Small Institutions
State Regulators Call for an End to One-Size-Fits-All Bank Regulation
State Regulators and U.S. Secret Service Issue Industry Best Practices for Combating Cyber Crime
Louisiana Regulator to Guide Nationwide Licensing and Supervision System for Fintechs and Other Non-Banks
State Regulators Issue Annual Reports on Non-Bank Supervision
CSBS Launches Fintech Advisory Panel to Help Modernize State Regulation
CSBS to OCC: Fintech Charter Lacks Legal Authority
CSBS Names Kyle Thomas Vice President, Accreditation and Supervisory Processes
State Regulators File Suit Over Unauthorized Use of Licensing Test Information
Statement on Financial Innovation Symposium hosted by Western States Financial Regulators
2018 CSBS Case Study Competition to Focus on Financial Innovation
Federal and State Banking Agencies Issue Statement on Supervisory Practices Regarding Financial Institutions and Borrowers Affected by Hurricane Irma
State Regulators Launch Redesign for Next Generation Technology Platform; Core Component of CSBS Vision 2020
South Carolina Begins Using Uniform Mortgage Test; 57 State Agencies Now Using the Test
CSBS Develops Tool to Help Financial Institutions Prepare for New Accounting Standards
CSBS Releases Annual Report
Statement by CSBS President and CEO John W. Ryan on The State Regulatory Representation Clarification Act
Federal Reserve and CSBS Release Findings from 2017 National Survey of Community Banks
CSBS Announces Fintech Advisory Panel Members
Print-Friendly   |   Email-A-Friend 


Media Release

Conference of State Bank Supervisors
        1129 20th Street, NW, 9th Floor, Washington, DC, 20036

 The University of Akron Wins First Place in CSBS Community Bank Competition  

Washington, D.C. – Today, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) announced The University of Akron has been named first place winner in its nationwide 2017 Community Bank Case Study Competition. Student members of the first place winning team are: Michael Moore, Kenan Sprague, Jeff Kelbach and Jacob Ruocchio-Cole. Dr. Bhanu Balasubramnian served as the team’s faculty advisor and Peoples Bank of Marietta, Ohio served as the team’s bank partner.

As first place winner, The University of Akron team will receive a $1,000 CSBS scholarship per student, an opportunity to present their case study in St. Louis at the CSBS-Federal Reserve Community Banking Research and Policy Conference, and the team will have their work published in the Journal of Community Bank Case Studies.

CSBS has also announced Iowa State University as second place winner and Texas Tech University as third place winner in the competition. As second place winner, the Iowa State University student team will receive a $500 CSBS scholarship per student. The Texas Tech University student team will receive a $250 CSBS scholarship per student. Both teams will also have their works published in the Journal of Community Bank Case Studies.

Thirty-three undergraduate student teams from universities and colleges around the U.S. participated in the 2017 case study competition. Partnering with banks to conduct original case studies, the Community Bank Case Study Competition encourages students to explore community banking and community bank supervision. The 2017 competition focused on management and board succession planning.   

More information about the 2017 CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition is available at

#  #  #
©2017 CSBS   Terms of Use \ Privacy Policy \ Site Map
1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor  \  Washington, DC  \  20036  \  Tel. 202.296.2840  \  Fax. 202.296.1928