Skip to main content
Press Releases

CSBS 2020 Community Bank Case Study Competition Begins

Student teams nationwide examine BSA-AML impact on community banks 

Washington, D.C. – A total of 37 teams from 33 colleges and universities in 18 states have made submissions for the CSBS 2020 Community Bank Case Study Competition. This year’s competition looks at the impact of the Bank Secrecy Act and Anti-Money Laundering (BSA- AML) requirements on community banks. Student teams partner with a local bank to examine compliance challenges, associated time and costs and identify potential regulatory reforms. 

This is the sixth year of the competition, which is open to undergraduate students in all fields of study as an opportunity to gain valuable first-hand knowledge of the banking industry.

“The work these students provide in this competition is very beneficial to public policy and the national conversation about the impact of BSA-AML on community banks,” said CSBS Senior Executive Vice President Michael L. Stevens. “We are particularly impressed by the perseverance and dedication of these students to compete during a pandemic.”

The student teams undergo three rounds of judging over the next four weeks. The top three teams will be announced on June 18. 

Each student member and faculty advisor of the first-place winning team will receive a $1,000 scholarship and be invited to present at the CSBS-Federal Reserve-FDIC Community Banking in the 21st Century Research and Policy Conference. Their work will be published in the annual CSBS Journal of Community Bank Case Studies. Teams that place second and third will also receive scholarships and have their works published in the journal. 

Student teams participating in the 2020 Community Bank Case Study Competition attend the following universities:

  • Arkansas State University (three teams)
  • Concordia College
  • DePaul University
  • DeSales University
  • Grove City College
  • Hawaii Pacific University
  • Iowa State University
  • James Madison University
  • Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
  • Mansfield University of Pennsylvania 
  • Marquette University
  • Merrimack College
  • Mississippi State University
  • Montana State University
  • Muhlenberg College
  • Nicholls State University (two teams)
  • Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Penn State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rosemont College (two teams)
  • Southeastern Louisiana University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Trine University
  • Truman State University
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
  • University of Tennessee at Martin
  • University of Utah
  • Ursinus College
  • York College of Pennsylvania 

Learn more at

Media Contact:  Susanna Barnett, 202-407-7156, 


The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is the national organization of bank regulators from all 50 states, American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. State regulators supervise roughly three-quarters of all U.S. banks and a variety of non-depository financial services. CSBS, on behalf of state regulators, also operates the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System to license and register non-depository financial service providers in the mortgage, money services businesses, consumer finance and debt industries.

Related Topics:

1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036 | Tel. 202.296.2840 | Fax. 202.296.1928