Skip to main content
Press Releases

CSBS 2022 Community Bank Case Study Competition Begins

Student teams to consider decade of changes in community banking 

Washington, D.C. – Twenty-three student teams from 21 colleges and universities across the nation have entered the 2022 CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition. The student teams will partner with local community banks to examine how community banking has changed in the last 10 years and expectations for the next decade.

The competition is open to undergraduate students in all fields of study as an opportunity to gain valuable first-hand knowledge of the banking industry. This year’s theme reflects the tenth anniversary of the CSBS-Federal Reserve-FDIC Community Bank Research Conference, where the top team will present its findings.

“This year’s case study will give a closer look at how community banks have navigated changes over the past 10 years – including technology, regulations and a pandemic - and what might be expected in the next decade,” said CSBS Acting President and CEO James Cooper. “These case studies will not only give students a great opportunity to develop research skills but will also provide the conference with solid and informative data.”

The teams will undergo three rounds of judging. Results from each round will be announced on June 2 and June 9. The top three teams will be announced via video on July 12. 

This is the eighth year of the competition. In addition to being invited to present at the annual Community Banking Research Conference, each student member and faculty advisor of the first-place winning team will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Their work will be published in the annual CSBS Journal of Community Bank Case Studies. Teams that place second and third will also receive scholarships and have their works published in the journal. 

Student teams participating in the 2022 CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition attend the following universities:

University State
Adelphi University  New York
Arkansas State University Arkansas
Bloomsburg University Pennsylvania
Grove City College Pennsylvania
Iowa State University Iowa
James Madison University Virginia
Kansas State University - Team 1  Kansas
Kansas State University - Team 2 Kansas
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania - Team 1 Pennsylvania
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania - Team 2  Pennsylvania
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania Pennsylvania
Merrimack College Massachusetts
MidAmerica Nazarene University Kansas
Minnesota State University Mankato Minnesota
Mississippi State University Mississippi
Pittsburg State University Kansas
Rosemont College Pennsylvania
The University of Tennessee at Martin Tenness
University of Arkansas Arkansas
University of Northern Iowa Iowa
University of Southern Mississippi Mississippi
University of Texas at El Paso Texas
Ursinus College Pennsylvania


 Learn more at

Contact:  Susanna Barnett, 202-407-7156, [email protected] 
Twitter: @CSBSNews

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is the national organization of bank regulators from all 50 states, American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. State regulators supervise roughly three-quarters of all U.S. banks and a variety of non-depository financial services. CSBS, on behalf of state regulators, also operates the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System to license and register non-depository financial service providers in the mortgage, money services businesses, consumer finance and debt industries.


1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036 | Tel. 202.296.2840 | Fax. 202.296.1928