Skip to main content

Teams to Evaluate How Community Banks Approach Financial Innovation

Washington, D.C. – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) has announced 54 student teams from 47 colleges and universities across the United States will participate in its 2018 Community Bank Case Study Competition. 

The competition is open to undergraduate students in all fields of study as an opportunity to gain valuable first-hand knowledge of the banking industry. This year, each student team must develop an original case study that evaluates how community banks are using technology within day-to-day operations. 

“Technology is changing the way we think about banking. That means banks need to embrace innovation to survive, which is not always easy,” said CSBS President and CEO John W. Ryan. “This year’s case study competition will provide a valuable look at the successes and challenges community banks are facing as they adopt technologies.” 

The student teams are competing for an academic scholarship, a chance for to get their work published in an academic journal and an opportunity to attend the sixth annual CSBS-Federal Reserve Community Banking Research Conference, held in St Louis this October. The top three scoring teams will be announced on May 10 during the CSBS State-Federal Supervisors Symposium in Jacksonville, Fla.

The announcement will be streamed live on the competition website.

Student teams participating in the 2018 Community Bank Case Study Competition include:

  • Arkansas State University (Arkansas)
  • University of Arkansas (Arkansas)
  • Fairfield University (Connecticut)
  • Florida State University (Florida)
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa (Hawaii)
  • DePaul University (Illinois)
  • Trine University (Indiana)
  • Purdue University (Indiana)
  • University of Iowa (Iowa)
  • Iowa State University (Iowa)
  • University of Northern Iowa (Iowa)
  • Fort Hays State University (Kansas)
  • Murray State University (Kentucky)
  • Eastern Kentucky University (Kentucky)
  • Louisiana State University (Louisiana)
  • Southeastern Louisiana University (Louisiana)
  • Nicholls State University (Louisiana)
  • Merrimack College (Massachusetts)
  • Concordia College (Minnesota)
  • Mississippi State University (Mississippi)
  • Washington University in St. Louis (Missouri)
  • University of Missouri - Kansas City (Missouri)
  • University of Nebraska at Kearney (Nebraska)
  • Western Carolina University (North Carolina)
  • Bowling Green State University (Ohio)
  • Ohio State University (Ohio)
  • Ursinus College (Pennsylvania)
  • Grove City College (Pennsylvania)
  • Immaculata University (Pennsylvania)
  • Mansfield University (Pennsylvania)
  • Saint Vincent College (Pennsylvania)
  • Kutztown University (Pennsylvania)
  • California University of Pennsylvania
  • York College of Pennsylvania
  • Penn State Harrisburg (Pennsylvania)
  • University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown (Pennsylvania)
  • Alvernia University (Pennsylvania)
  • East Stroudsburg University (Pennsylvania)
  • Claflin University (South Carolina)
  • Northern State University (South Dakota)
  • University of Tennessee at Martin (Tennessee)
  • Middle Tennessee State University (Tennessee)
  • University of Houston (Texas)
  • University of Texas at San Antonio (Texas)
  • James Madison University (Virginia)
  • Marquette University (Wisconsin)
  • University of Wisconsin – Whitewater (Wisconsin)


For more information on the 2018 Community Bank Case Study Competition, visit


Media Contacts:  Susanna Barnett, Senior Manager of Communications, or 202.407.7156 
Twitter: @CSBSNews 

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is the national organization of bank regulators from all 50 states, American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. State regulators supervise roughly three-quarters of all U.S. banks and a variety of non-depository financial services. CSBS, on behalf of state regulators, also operates the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System to license and register non-depository financial service providers in the mortgage, money services businesses, consumer finance and debt industries.