Skip to main content

The Emerging Payments and Innovation Task Force

The CSBS Emerging Payments and Innovation Task Force studies changes in payment systems to determine the potential impact on consumer protection, state law, and banks and non-bank entities chartered or licensed by the states.

The Task Force takes a comprehensive approach to studying the changing payment systems, including virtual currencies and other innovations.

The Task Force engages with a broad range of stakeholders – including fellow state regulators, federal regulators, industry participants, and other experts – to understand how new entrants and technologies affect the stability of payment systems and the broader financial marketplace and to develop ideas for connecting the emerging payments landscape to the financial regulatory fabric.

Materials Produced by the Task Force:

Members of the Task Force:

  • Chairman: Bryan Schneider, Secretary of Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation.
  • Kevin Hagler, Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Banking and Finance.
  • Jan Lynn Owen, Commissioner of California Department of Business Oversight.
  • Drew J. Breakspear, Commissioner of Florida Office of Financial Regulation.
  • Greg Gonzales, Commissioner of Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions.
  • Charles G. Cooper, Commissioner of Texas Department of Banking.
  • G. Edward Leary, Commissioner of Utah Department of Financial Institutions.
  • Maria Vullo, Superintendent, New York State Department of Financial Services.

Recent Posts

The CSBS Fintech Industry Advisory Panel (“Advisory Panel”) is designed to support state regulators’ increased efforts to engage with financial services companies involved in fintech.
Feb 14, 2019
A summarized list of the recommendations of the FIAP regarding changes to state bank supervision.
Feb 12, 2019
Vision 2020 contains several CSBS and state initiatives to modernize nonbank regulation. What has been done to date, and what should you expect next?
Aug 2, 2018
CSBS opposes moves by the OCC to create a national bank charter for financial technology companies and other non-banks.
Jun 1, 2017

1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036 | Tel. 202.296.2840 | Fax. 202.296.1928