

Cooper Reselected to FFIEC State Liaison Committee, Re-Elected Chair

May 1, 2025

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the reselection of Charles G. Cooper to the FFIEC's State Liaison Committee (SLC) for the term that runs from May 1, 2025, through April 30, 2027. Concurrently, the SLC announced Cooper's re-election as SLC Chair for a one-year term that runs until April 30, 2026. Cooper has been a member of the SLC and served as its Chair since 2023.

Cooper is the Commissioner of the Texas Department of Banking, a position he has held since 2008. As Commissioner, he is responsible for the chartering, regulation, supervision, and examination of 214 Texas state-chartered banks, which have aggregate assets of approximately \$426.6 billion. In addition, the Department supervises trust companies, foreign bank agencies and branches, prepaid funeral licensees, money service businesses, and perpetual care cemeteries.

Cooper has served in various positions with the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS), including as Chairman in 2016 and currently as Chairman emeritus. He also serves as the state banking representative on the Financial Banking Information Infrastructure Committee and previously served on the Financial Stability Oversight Council.

The SLC is composed of five members and, in addition to Cooper, includes:

- Katherine M.R. Bosken, Commissioner, North Carolina Office of the Commissioner of Banks, designated by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS);
- Greg Gonzales, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions, selected by the Council;
- Polly Klyce Pennoyer, Senior Deputy Superintendent, Bank Supervision, New York State Department of Financial Services, designated by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS); and
- Aaron Luetzow, Senior Deputy Director, Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services, designated by the CSBS.

The FFIEC was created by the federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to "prescribe uniform principles and standards for the federal examination of financial institutions" and "make recommendations to promote uniformity" in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.

Media Contacts:

FRB, Chelsea Grate, (202) 452-2955

SLC, Laura Fisher, (202) 812-9813

Top Category
Statements & Comments

202.296.2840 newsroom@csbs.org 1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036