A CSBS White Paper: Reengineering Nonbank Supervision Acknowledgements

Authors, Oversight and Support

The CSBS Non-Depository Supervisory Committee provided the concept and direction for this paper

- Project Lead and Writer: Chuck Cross, CSBS Senior Vice President for Nonbank Supervision & Enforcement
- Project Manager, Interviewer and Writer: Lisa Brusio Coster, Coster Communications
- Writer: Matthew Lambert, CSBS Nonbank Counsel Nonbank Supervision & Enforcement
- Writer: Tony Vasile, CSBS Senior Director Nonbank Supervision & Enforcement
- Writer: Kevin Byers, CSBS Senior Director Nonbank Supervision & Enforcement
- CSBS Staff Support: Mike Bray, Melissa Puccinelli, Alex Alcala

CSBS White Paper Sources

The following industry subject matter experts and financial regulators were interviewed or provided information between October 2018 and May 2019 as sources of the information contained herein.

Regulators:

- Kirsten Anderson, Licensing Manager, Oregon Division of Financial Regulation
- Jedd Bellman, Assistant Commissioner for Non-Depository Supervision, Maryland Office of Financial Regulation
- Elizabeth Benotti, Chief Director, Massachusetts Division of Banks
- Rod Carnes, Deputy Commissioner for Non-Depository Financial, Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
- Nicole Chamblee, Assistant Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions
- Craig Christensen, Senior Examiner, Finance Bureau, Iowa Division of Banking
- Charles Clark, Agency Deputy & Director of Consumer Services, Washington Department of Financial Institutions
- Charlotte Corley, Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Banking & Consumer Finance
- Richard Cortes, Principal Financial Examiner, Connecticut Department of Banking
- Carmine Costa, Director, Consumer Credit Division, Connecticut Department of Banking
- Joe Crider, Supervisor of Consumer Credit, Missouri Division of Finance
- Gary Davis, Mortgage Examination Branch Manager, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions

- Darin Domingue, Chief Examiner, Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions
- Matthew Fujikawa, Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Portfolio Manager, California Department of Business Oversight
- Henry Hallman, Financial Program Manager, North Carolina Office of Commissioner Banks
- Karen Heede, Manager of Examinations, Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions
- Phillip Hinkle, Director of IT Security Examinations, State of Texas
- Adam Johnson, Financial Examiner Supervisor, Washington Department of Financial Institutions
- Sheila Johnson, Manager, Money Service Businesses, West Virginia Division of Financial Institutions
- James Keiser, Chief, Compliance Office, Non-Depository Institutions at PA Department of Banking and Securities
- Joe Mulberry, Deputy Commissioner, Wyoming State Banking Department
- Stephanie Newberg, Texas Department of Banking
- Hung Nguyen, Financial Examiner, State of Washington
- Rodney Reed, Finance Bureau Chief, Iowa Division of Banking
- Chris Romano, Non-Depository Bureau Chief, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions
- Rick St. Onge, Examinations Chief, Washington Department of Financial Institutions
- Denise Sandy, Senior Non-Depository Financial Institutions Examiner, Pennsylvania Department of Banking & Securities
- Spenser Staton, Money Transmitter Act Specialist, State of Illinois
- Kevin Stouder, IT Program Lead, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
- Charles Vice, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions
- Patrice Walsh, Acting Director, Alaska Division of Banking and Securities

Former Regulators:

- Scott Jarvis, Former Washington DFI Commissioner
- Peter Bildstein, Former Wisconsin DFI Commissioner
- Sue Clark, Former Vermont DFR Deputy Commissioner

Government-Established Boards and Commissioners:

- Bradley Chapman, Wyoming Collection Agency Board
- Scott Kinkley, Washington State Collection Agency Board
- Andrew Smith, Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Consumer Protection
- Ed Vance, Arkansas State Board of Collection Agencies
- Kate White, Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Consumer Protection

Industry and Industry Trade Associations:

- Susan Appel, Unifund
- Ryan Black, OneMain Financial
- Thomas Blank, Shumaker Loop & Kendrick, LLP, and Association of Trust Organizations
- John Bley, Compliance Services Group
- Jay Brinkmann, Mortgage Bankers Association
- Cliff Cook, Compliance Services Group
- Hugo Cuevas-Mohr, Mohr World
- Ed D'Alessio, Financial Services Center of America
- Andrea Donkor, Paypal
- Paul Dwyer, Viamericas Corporation
- Eric Ellman, Consumer Data Industry Association
- Michael Fratantoni, Mortgage Bankers Association
- John Hecht, Jeffries LLC
- Phil Hitz, OneMain Financial
- Mary Jackson, Online Lenders Alliance
- Melissa Koide, FinReg Lab
- Jack Konyk, Weiner Brodsky Kider PC
- William Kooper, Mortgage Bankers Association
- Rebecca Kuehn, Hudson Cook
- David Landsman, David Landsman Consulting
- Brian Lauer, Messick Lauer & Smith P.C.
- Roseanne Lazer, TransferWise Limited
- Andrew Madden, ACA International
- Pete Mills, Mortgage Bankers Association
- Mark Neeb, ACA International
- April Park, OneMain Financial
- Thomas H. Reinheimer, Veritec Solutions
- Jeff Shaffer, Unifund
- Dennis Shaul, Community Financial Services Association of America
- Jan Stieger, Receivables Management Association
- Mark Thomson, BECU
- Kathy Tomasofsky, Money Services Business Association
- Trudy Weiss Craig, Unifund

CSBS Staff:

- Nathan Davis
- Tim Doyle
- Dave Dwyer
- Jim Kurtzke

- Matt Lambert
- Margaret Liu
- Bill Matthews
- Vickie Peck
- Mary Pfaff
- John Prendergast
- Mary Beth Quist
- John Ryan
- Brennan Zubrick