Skip to main content

South Dakota's Afdahl Elected CSBS Chairman

Washington, D.C. – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) today announced the election of Bret Afdahl, director of banking in the South Dakota Division of Banking, as the new chairman of the CSBS Board of Directors. The election took place during the organization’s annual membership meeting in San Antonio, Tex., where new officers were also elected for 2019-2020. CSBS has also announced new committee chair appointments.   

Newly installed officers, who comprise the CSBS Executive Committee, include:

  • Chair: Bret Afdahl, director of banking, South Dakota Division of Banking
  • Chair-Elect: Kevin Hagler, commissioner, Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
  • Vice Chair: Melanie Hall, commissioner, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions
  • Treasurer: Tom Fite, director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
  • Secretary: Robin Wiessmann, secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
  • Immediate Past Chair: Charlotte Corley, commissioner, Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance

At-Large Board members are:

  • Lise Kruse, commissioner, North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions
  • Mike Hill, superintendent of banks, Alabama State Banking Department 

Committee and Board chairs of the CSBS Board of Directors include:

  • Legislative Committee: Lee Keith, commissioner, Missouri Division of Finance 
  • Non-Depository Supervisory Committee: Charlie Clark, director, Washington Department of Financial Institutions
  • Regulatory Committee: Karen Lawson, director of banking, Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
  • State Supervisory Processes Committee: Chris Dietz, deputy director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
  • State Regulatory Registry: John Ducrest, commissioner, Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions
  • CSBS Education Foundation Board of Trustees Chair: Charles Vice, commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions 
  • Bankers Advisory Board Industry Co-Chair: Andy Anderson, Bank of Anguilla, Mississippi *

Chairs Emeritus, who serve as ex-officio members of the CSBS Board, include:

  • Albert Forkner, commissioner, Wyoming Division of Banking *
  • Charles G. Cooper, commissioner, Texas Department of Banking *
  • Candace Franks, commissioner, Arkansas State Bank Department *
  • Charles Vice, commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions *
  • Greg Gonzales, commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions *
  • John Ducrest, commissioner, Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions *
  • Jeffrey Vogel, director, Wyoming Department of Audit *
  • E. Joseph Face, Jr., commissioner, Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions *
  • Mick Thompson, commissioner, Oklahoma State Banking Department *
  • G. Edward Leary, commissioner, Utah Department of Financial Institutions *

* Denotes non-voting member

Recent Press Releases Posts

Press Releases
Washington, D.C. – Conference of State Bank Supervisors President and CEO John W. Ryan today…
May 20, 2020
Press Releases
Student teams nationwide examine BSA-AML impact on community banks  Washington, D.C. – A total of…
May 19, 2020
Press Releases
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance Commissioner Kevin B. Hagler was elected today as the new…
May 18, 2020
Press Releases
The FFIEC announces the re-election of Greg Gonzales by the State Liaison Committee as its Chairman.
Apr 30, 2020