Skip to main content
Press Releases

CSBS Announces 2024 Community Bank Case Study Competition Teams

27 Teams will examine asset and liability management 

Washington, D.C. – Twenty-seven student teams from 21 colleges and universities across the nation have entered the 2024 CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition. Each team has partnered with a local community bank to learn about the closures of Silicon Valley Bank, Signature Bank, and First Republic Bank, identify the case study bank’s expectations for regulatory and supervisory change, and how they use social media in their daily operations. 

This is the tenth year of the competition, which is open to undergraduate students in all fields of study as an opportunity to gain valuable first-hand knowledge of the banking industry. The teams will undergo three rounds of judging. A list of those who advance to the second round will be announced on May 28. The top three teams will be announced on June 25. 

In addition to being invited to present at the annual Community Banking Research Conference, each student member and faculty advisor of the first-place winning team will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Their work will be published in the annual CSBS Journal of Community Bank Case Studies. Teams that place second and third will also receive scholarships and have their works published in the journal. 

Student teams participating in the 2024 CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition attend the following universities: 

  • Arkansas State University (Two teams)
  • Clark Atlanta University, Georgia 
  • Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania 
  • Iowa State University
  • James Madison University (Two teams), Virginia 
  • Marquette University, Wisconsin 
  • Mercer University (Three teams), Georgia 
  • Merrimack College, Massachusetts 
  • Mississippi State University 
  • Morehead State University, Kentucky 
  • Rosemont College, Pennsylvania 
  • Southeastern Louisiana University 
  • The University of Tennessee at Martin 
  • Trine University, Indiana 
  • University of Guam
  • University of Illinois at Springfield 
  • University of Maryland (Two teams)
  • University of Northern Iowa (Two teams) 
  • University of Southern Mississippi 
  • University of Wisconsin Whitewater 
  • Western Michigan University 

Learn more at


Susanna Barnett, 202-407-7156, [email protected]

Delonda Scott, 202-559-4749, [email protected]

X: @CSBSNews 

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is the national organization of financial regulators from all 50 states, American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. State regulators supervise roughly three-quarters of all U.S. banks and a variety of non-depository financial services. CSBS, on behalf of state regulators, also operates the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System to license and register non-depository financial service providers in the mortgage, money services businesses, consumer finance and debt industries.

Related Topics: