Skip to main content
About CSBS

Our History

CSBS was organized in 1902 as the National Association of Supervisors of State Banks. In 1971, the name was changed to the Conference of State Bank Supervisors to better reflect the ongoing nature of CSBS activities.

For more than 110 years, CSBS has been uniquely positioned as the only national organization dedicated to protecting and advancing the nation’s dual-banking system.

Contact Us

Who We Are


CSBS supports state regulators in advancing the system of state financial supervision by promoting safety and soundness, consumer protection and economic growth and fostering innovative, responsive supervision.


The vision of CSBS is to be the recognized leader advancing the quality and effectiveness of regulation and supervision of state banking and financial services.

Annual Report 2021 Image
Annual Reports & Financials

Each year, CSBS publishes an Annual Report to highlight the work state regulators have done. The CSBS Annual Reports share how state regulators are collaborating with their peers in the federal government, coordinating with one another in the licensing of non-depository companies, and strengthening the dual-banking system.

Jim Cooper
CSBS Leadership

James M. Cooper
President & CEO, Conference of State Bank Supervisors

Jim Cooper was appointed President & CEO in June 2022. Previously, Jim served as Deputy Director at the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions (1994-2013), Senior Vice President of Policy at CSBS (2013-2021) and Executive Vice President of Policy and Supervision at CSBS (2021-2022). Jim is an alumni of Hanover College in Hanover, Indiana.

Lise Kruse
CSBS Boards

Lise Kruse
Chairman of the CSBS Board of Directors

CSBS announced in May 2023 the election of North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions Commissioner Lise Kruse as the chair of the Board of Directors.

We are headquartered in Washington, DC at:
1300 I Street, NW, Suite 700 East, Washington, DC 20005
P: 202.296.2840
F: 202.296.1928
The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is an equal opportunity employer. If you are interested in joining our dynamic, professional, and diverse staff, please review the following job postings and submit a cover letter and resume to [email protected].