Skip to main content


CSBS supports state regulators in advancing the system of state financial supervision by ensuring safety, soundness and consumer protection; promoting economic growth; and fostering innovative, responsive supervision.


The vision of CSBS is to be the recognized leader advancing the quality and effectiveness of regulation and supervision of state banking and financial services.


CSBS was organized in 1902 as the National Association of Supervisors of State Banks. In 1971, the name of the organization was changed to the Conference of State Bank Supervisors to better reflect the ongoing nature of CSBS activities.

For more than 110 years, CSBS has been uniquely positioned as the only national organization dedicated to protecting and advancing the nation’s dual-banking system.

Annual Reports

Each year, CSBS publishes an Annual Report to highlight the work state regulators have done. The 2016 CSBS Annual Report shares how state regulators are collaborating with their peers in the federal government, coordinating with one another in the licensing of non-depository companies, and strengthening the dual-banking system.

CSBS also publishes annual reports for the State Regulatory Registry (NMLS) and several non-depository committees managed by state regulators.

View Annual Reports

Bret Afdahl
Mr. Bret Afdahl
Director of Banking
South Dakota Division of Banking
Legislative Committee Chair
Ms. Iris Ikeda
Commissioner of Financial Institutions
Hawaii Division of Financial Institutions Department of Commerce & Cons. Affairs
Regulatory Committee Chair
Ms. Karen K. Lawson
Director, Office Of Banking
Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Non-Depository Supervisory Committee Chair
Mr. Charles Clark
Washington Department of Financial Institutions
State Supervisory Processes Committee Chair
Mr. Christopher Dietz, CEM
Deputy Director
Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
Co-Chair, Banker, Bankers Advisory Board*
Mr. Andy Anderson
President & CEO
Bank of Anguilla
Co-Chair, Bankers Advisory Board
Mr. Richard Mumford
Acting Director
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
Chair, District I
Mr. Antonio P. Salazar, Esq.
Maryland Office of Financial Regulation
Chair, District II
Mr. Kevin R. Allard
Ohio Division of Financial Institutions

CSBS Management

John Ryan
Mr. John Ryan
President & CEO
Mr. James Kurtzke
Vice President, Communications
Ms. Margaret Liu
Senior Vice President, Legislative & Deputy General Counsel
Mr. Sebastien Monnet
Vice President, Learning & Development
CSBS Education Foundation
Ms. Vickie Peck
Senior Vice President, NMLS Operations
State Regulatory Registry LLC
Ms. Mary Beth Quist
Senior Vice President, Bank Supervision
Ms. Ngoc Vu
Chief Information Officer


The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is an equal opportunity employer. If you are interested in joining our dynamic, professional, and diverse staff, please review the following job postings and submit a cover letter and resume to

View All Job Openings



1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036

Tel. 202.296.2840
Fax. 202.296.1928

Contact Us